Mind My Paws - Dog walking and pet sitting services
RSS

Recent Posts

Woodley dog walking and cat feeding
Dog training and behaviour
A new addition to Mind My Paws
Jazz is loving Mind My Paws Doggy Day Care in Twyford
Tam, the Sprollie, enjoys dog boarding in Twyford

Categories

Articles from the experts
Dog Walking
Pet Sitting
Training and behaviour
powered by

My Blog

Woodley dog walking and cat feeding

It has been an age since my last blog! Apologies. This is partly due to the fact that the books at Mind My Paws are almost always full. Well for dog walking, but there's always room for cats to be fed.

In the last few months, Mind My Paws has relocated from Twyford to Woodley. Our premises (house!) is bigger and the garden is a real treat for all the pooches that come to stay.

Moving to Woodley means that we now have spaces in the schedule to make sure the cats of the town are able to be looked after while the humans are away to sunnier climates.

Dog training and behaviour

There are lots of stories on our blog about the dogs we walk and those who have boarded with us. So now it's time to talk a bit about us! Now that Stef is on board and easing up the very busy walking schedule, we can both take a step back and work out the best ways to grow and expand the business. 
 
Since Stef has taken a reduction in hours from her full-time job and is spending time with other dogs, it has spurred her on with another ambition: to become a dog trainer/behaviourist.

A new addition to Mind My Paws

You might have noticed a lack of stories on my blog for a few months. I'm happy to report that this has been due to being so busy that I haven't had time to write anything. Excuses I know, but it's true.
 
So I am very happy to announce that I have found the perfect person to join Mind My Paws to help out with the dog walking side of the business. Stef, one of my very first clients, has joined us on a part time basis.
 
I have been thinking about needing to find an extra pair of feet for a while now, but wondered how I would be able to trust anyone else with any of my dogs.

Jazz is loving Mind My Paws Doggy Day Care in Twyford

It's about time I introduced you to Jazz, who joined Mind My Paws doggy day care in February. Her owners, Jo and Matt, had always wanted a dog but couldn't see how they could have one as they both have a very busy working schedule. Then they found me! So they set about finding their perfect pooch - and succeeded!
 
They picked the 8 month old working labrador up from the breeder, on a recommendation from a friend, who had one of the pups from the same litter.
 
I went to meet her the day before she was due to start day care with me.

Tam, the Sprollie, enjoys dog boarding in Twyford

It's been a while since I've updated my blog but there's lots going on. Tam, the border collie / springer cross, is our current boarder and has been with us for two weeks now.
 
On his arrival, we went straight out on a pack walk with Dudley, Socks and our new addition, Stanley (more on him later!). To start with Tam was very shy and stayed by my side the whole time.
 
But as the week progressed and the more and more dogs he met, the more confident he became. We are now at the point where his 'play with me' bark is very loud and almost constant!

House sitting in Woodley with Murphy, Will and Spike

For people who have more than one pet, house-sitting is the ideal option. For two weeks, I stayed with Murphy, Will and Spike while their owners went on a holiday of a lifetime to South Africa. Anne and Jim are also pet sitters, and runhttp://www.homefromhomepetcare.co.uk/   I went to visit them months before they went on holiday, as getting the right person to look after their own beloved dogs was at the top of their priority list. We all hit it off straight away, Anne, Jim and I share the same philosophy in animal care, caring for pets in the exact same way the owners do.

Temporary dog walking in and around Twyford for Clicquot

Occasionally I get enquiries from people who are looking for someone to walk their dog for a week or two as they are unable to, for various reasons. I rarely write about these dogs as life just seems to fly by and before I know it, I am no longer walking them. But I had to stop and write about my most recent temporary pup. For the last three weeks, Clicquot, the beautiful black labrador, has been part of my 11am pack.
 
I met with her and her owner for half an hour and then took Clicquot straight out with my other dogs that day.

Bart and Lisa beagles join Mind my Paws Twyford dog walking schedule

Beagles are arguably the cutest dogs out there - and I've been waiting for nine months to get one on my books - then TWO come along at once! Bart and Lisa have recently moved back from Holland with their family and are back in their original home of Twyford.
 
Bart is four and Lisa is three. When I went to meet them, their owner told me that both of them had a bad experience with big dogs when they were very young and as a result both tended to fall on the scared side when meeting other dogs.

Bethan the spaniel dog boards at Mind My Paws, Twyford for two weeks

It's been non-stop here at Mind My Paws since June. Since my last post, as well as my regular daily dog walks, Toby the black lab has boarded for a week, Dudley the chocolate lab has stayed for a week and Digory the daschund stayed for a fortnight.
 
I could spend hours writing about all my boarders, but just don't seem to find the time. However, I have made time to write about my latest boarder, who has just left us after a fortnight.
 
Bethan, the ten month old working spaniel truly is the perfect dog.

Dog walking in Twyford, Henley and Binfield

As I look over my blog posts, I realise that there are so many of my dogs that I haven't introduced you to yet! Aside from my boarders, it's time to meet my regular walkies pups.
 
Of course if you 'like' myFacebook page, you might have already seen the pictures of my growing 'client base'.
 
My walking schedule is now pretty much set in stone (although there is always room for maneuver). I do my first walk of the day with Saska the staffie in Twyford. She is 12 years old and her owner would prefer her to be walked alone, so three days a week, we go for a half hour walk together.
Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint